Board of Directors

In accordance with the Broadcasting Act, the Board of Directors is responsible for the management of the Corporation. The Board is made up of 12 members, including the Chair and the President and CEO of CBC/Radio-Canada.

View FAQs | View documents from meetings | View Governance Guide

  • Michael Goldbloom
  • Catherine Tait
  • Guillaume Aniorté
  • Edward Boyd
  • Harley Finkelstein
  • Suzanne Guèvremont
  • Rob Jeffery
  • Rene Légère
  • Jennifer Moore Rattray
  • François R. Roy
  • Sandra B. Singh
  • Marie Wilson
Harley Finkelstein, Ottawa

Harley Finkelstein

Chief Operating Officer, Shopify

Harley Finkelstein was appointed to the Board of Directors of CBC/Radio-Canada on December 19, 2017, for a five-year term.

Harley is the Chief Operating Officer (COO) at Shopify, a Canadian e-commerce company headquartered in Ottawa, Ontario and online platform which allows users to set up an online store to sell their products.

He founded his first company at age 17 while attending McGill as an undergraduate student. After transferring to Concordia University, he received a bachelor's degree in economics. Completing his law degree as well as his MBA at the University of Ottawa, he also co-founded the JD/MBA Student Society and the Canadian MBA Oath.

After completing his Juris Doctor (JD) degree and MBA, Harley worked at a law firm in Toronto for a year. In 2010, Harley was hired by Tobias Lütke, the co-founder and CEO of Shopify, as the company's Chief Platform Officer before becoming the COO.

Harley currently sits on the Board of the C100, is an Advisor to Felicis Ventures and OMERS Ventures and was one of the Dragons on CBC’s Next Gen Den. He was inducted into the Order of Ottawa in 2016. In 2017, Harley was named the Canadian Angel Investor of the Year, and received Canada’s Top 40 Under 40 award.

Search highlight tool