Board of Directors

In accordance with the Broadcasting Act, the Board of Directors is responsible for the management of the Corporation. The Board is made up of 12 members, including the Chair and the President and CEO of CBC/Radio-Canada.

Appointment opportunities for the Chairperson, President and Director positions of CBC/Radio-Canada are now available on the Governor in Council (GIC) Appointments website.

View FAQs | View documents from meetings

  • Rémi Racine
  • Hubert T. Lacroix
  • Edward Boyd
  • Rob Jeffery
  • Marni Larkin
  • Terrence Anthony Leier
  • Norman May
  • Maureen McCaw
  • Marlie Oden
Norman May, Q.C, Toronto

Norman May, Q.C

Senior Partner, Fogler, Rubinoff LLP

Norman May was appointed to the Board of Directors of CBC/Radio-Canada on June 18, 2015 for a five-year term.

Mr. May is Senior Partner at Fogler, Rubinoff LLP, a well-regarded Toronto law firm, where he practices in the areas of commercial, corporate and securities law, including mergers and acquisitions, public and private financings and corporate reorganizations.

From 1986 to 2006 he was a director of Cinram International Inc., and co-chair of its board’s governance and nominations committee. From 1986 to 1996 he served as a director of Dominion Trustco Corporation, the parent of Dominion Trust Company. He currently is a member of the board of a number of private corporations.

Among Mr. May’s community and public service activities, he is currently a member of the Board of Governors of Mount Sinai Hospital in Toronto and has previously served as Honourary Legal Counsel to Canadian Jewish Congress, National Chairman of the Canada-Israel Committee, Chair of the Board of Amadeus Chamber Music Ensemble, director of Centaur Foundation for the Performing Arts and member of the Canada Pension Plan Review Tribunal.

Mr. May is a member of the Law Society of Upper Canada, the Barreau du Quebec, the Canadian Bar Association and the Ontario Bar Association. He holds B.A. and B.C.L. degrees from McGill University, graduating with First Class Honours in Economics and Political Science from the Faculty of Arts and being awarded the Elizabeth Torrance Gold Medal for Highest Standing in the Faculty of Law. He also holds an M.A. [Econ.] from Yale University and is a former law professor. He was appointed Queen’s Counsel in 1976 and was awarded the Queen’s Jubilee Medal in 2013.

Search highlight tool