Make CBC/Radio-Canada part of your Canada Day

June 19, 2017, Ottawa

Canada’s public broadcaster has our country’s 150th anniversary covered from coast to coast to coast with multiplatform programming and activities leading up to and throughout the day on July 1st

2017 lineup includes CBC NEWS SPECIAL PRESENTATION: CANADA 2017 with Peter Mansbridge, CANADA DAY 150! FROM COAST TO COAST TO COAST hosted by Rick Mercer plus more special content and news coverage on CBC, CBC NEWS NETWORK, CBC RADIO and cbc.ca/2017

CBC/Radio-Canada is honoured to be at the heart of our country’s sesquicentennial, with special activities as well as extensive news coverage and entertainment programming on all platforms of its English and French networks.

“Wherever they may be on Canada Day, as the official broadcaster, we’re providing a space where Canadians can share their stories, ideas and perspectives and where they can engage with one another,” said Hubert T. Lacroix, CBC/Radio-Canada’s President and CEO. “We look forward to bringing Canadians together around this once-in-a-generation event in our country’s history.”

In addition to comprehensive multiplatform programming, CBC/Radio-Canada will also host live events in communities across the country on July 1 including Vancouver, Calgary, Edmonton, Yellowknife, Saskatoon, Regina, Winnipeg, London, Toronto, Ottawa, Montreal, Moncton, Halifax, Charlottetown and St. John’s.

Mr. Lacroix added: “This July 1st also presents us with an opportunity to demonstrate our true value for Canadians. Our contribution to this milestone year is aligned with our A Creative Canada vision regarding the future of homegrown content in a digital world—a vision that makes us an even stronger partner to communities, cultural institutions, artists and creators.”

For a complete list of CBC’s Canada Day plans, including broadcast and digital programming and community events, visit cbc.ca/canadaday2017guide.

CBC’s Canada Day line-up across television, radio and online:

On Saturday July 1, CBC will offer a full day of programming and news coverage beginning at 6 a.m. ET (3 a.m. PT) on CBC NEWS NETWORK with Heather Hiscox hosting live from Charlottetown until 10 a.m. (7 a.m. PT). On CBC and CBC NEWS NETWORK from 10 a.m. – 3 p.m. ET (7 a.m. – 12 p.m. PT), Peter Mansbridge will anchor CBC NEWS SPECIAL PRESENTION: CANADA 2017 live from Parliament Hill in Ottawa, featuring Canada Day events from coast to coast to coast. The news special will celebrate and reflect as it takes a look at our country’s successes and failures and, most importantly, its future—asking Canadians what they want for Canada in the next 150 years. Coverage will include the Royal visit to Ottawa by Prince Charles and the Duchess of Cornwall, and the official Canada Day ceremony on Parliament Hill.

In the evening, CBC will offer CANADA DAY 150! FROM COAST TO COAST TO COAST, a special three-hour broadcast from Parliament Hill in Ottawa, hosted by Rick Mercer and featuring performances in every province and territory across the country beginning at 9 p.m. ET (6 p.m. PT) on CBC and streaming live at cbc.ca/2017, watch.cbc.ca, YouTube.com/cbc, Facebook.com/cbccanada2017, the CBC TV app and CBC Music Apple TV app. CBC RADIO ONE and CBC RADIO 2 will broadcast an audio-only version of the special at 9 p.m. local time across Canada (10 AT, 10:30 NT).

Produced by Insight Productions, the Canada Day special will take viewers across the country for performances and appearances by some of Canada’s top musical artists and comedians including Alessia Cara, Gordon Lightfoot, Serena Ryder, Walk Off The Earth, Kinnie Star, Kelly Bado and more in Ottawa; Arkells and Delhi 2 Dublin in Victoria; Jonny Harris in Whitehorse; Brett Kissel in Banff; Bruce Cockburn in Yellowknife; a bilingual performance from Whitehorse and Faouzia in Winnipeg; Buffy Sainte-Marie in Toronto; The Trade-Offs in Iqaluit; Stéphanie Bédard, Rémi Chassé, DJ Champion, Marie-Christine Dépestre, Gardy Fury and Alex McMahon with special guests in Montreal; Coeur de pirate in Moncton; Jonathan Torrens in Charlottetown; and Mary Walsh in St. John’s. The broadcast will culminate with the Canada Day fireworks display above Parliament Hill. Additional performances in Regina and Halifax will be confirmed in the coming days, along with more artists in many locations.

In addition to streaming CANADA DAY 150! FROM COAST TO COAST TO COAST, CBC’s digital platforms will also provide two additional live streams, one from the stage on Parliament Hill beginning at 8:30 p.m. ET (5:30 p.m. PT) at cbc.ca/2017 and watch.cbc.ca as well as a dedicated feed of the Ottawa fireworks display at 11 p.m. ET (8 a.m. PT) at cbc.ca/2017, Facebook.com/cbccanada2017 and YouTube.com/cbc.

Three new comedy specials are part of CBC’s television lineup: JUST FOR LAUGHS PRESENTS: STAND-UP ON GUARD FOR THEE a two-hour special hosted by Daniel Levy on Tuesday, June 20 at 8 p.m. (8:30 NT), which sets out to prove that Canada is the funniest country on earth by rolling out some of the best moments in JFL history; YOUR SPECIAL CANADA, STARRING JONATHAN TORRENS on Saturday, July 1 at 7 p.m. ET (4 p.m. PT), in which Torrens returns to his birthplace—and the Birthplace of Confederation—to host a sweet and silly “thank-you note” to Canada; and AIR FARCE CANADA 150 on Saturday, July 1 at 8 p.m. ET (5 p.m. PT), an hour-long send-up of national proportions to mark the sesquicentennial from perennial audience favourite AIR FARCE.

In addition to the audio-only broadcast of CANADA DAY 150! FROM COAST TO COAST TO COAST, CBC RADIO will offer Canada Day programming throughout the day including Piya Chattopadhyay and Duncan McCue hosting live from Ottawa on CBC RADIO ONE beginning at 12 p.m. ET (9 a.m. PT), and a CBC MUSIC celebration of 100 percent Canadian music across all genres on CBC RADIO 2 beginning at 6 a.m. local time (6:30 NT). CBC MUSIC will also offer 15 all-Canadian streams for all musical tastes, from R&B to jazz and Indigenous to classical. Full details of CBC MUSIC’S Canada Day lineup are available at cbcmusic.ca/canadaday.

CBC KIDS will have a special one-hour Canada Day broadcast for young viewers starting at 9 a.m. ET (6 a.m. PT) on CBC, featuring the premiere of JAXON AND SONG’S MAPLE MYSTERY and hosts Janaye, Tony and Victor and puppets Gary and Mr. Orlando in Ottawa. CBC KIDS will also reveal how the young winner of their Prime Minister for a Day contest spent the day with Justin Trudeau.

CBC will offer additional special television programming in the week leading up to Canada Day, including an encore commercial-free broadcast of last summer’s unforgettable THE TRAGICALLY HIP: A NATIONAL CELEBRATION on Saturday, June 24 at 8 p.m. (9 AT, 9:30 NT), also streaming worldwide at cbcmusic.ca/thehip at 8 ET; new six-part factual series BECOMING CANADIAN, which captures the emotional, life-changing moment when new citizens become Canadian, airing throughout the week starting Monday, June 26 at 8 p.m. (8:30 NT); new instalments of biography series EXTRAORDINARY CANADIANS pairing prominent writers with great Canadians, including Dr. Vincent Lam on Tommy Douglas on Wednesday, June 28 at 8:30 pm (9 NT) and Daniel Poliquin on René Lévesque on Thursday, June 29 at 8:30 pm (9 NT); and the GOVERNOR GENERAL’S PERFORMING ARTS AWARDS 25th ANNIVERSARY SPECIAL on Friday, June 30 at 9 p.m. (9:30 NT), recognizing a stellar array of artists and arts volunteers for their outstanding contribution to culture in Canada and abroad. As broadcast partner of the 2017 GOVERNOR GENERAL’S PERFORMING ARTS AWARDS GALA, CBC/Radio-Canada will livestream the Gala from Ottawa on Thursday, June 29 at 8 p.m. ET (5 p.m. PT) at cbc.ca/2017 and radio-canada.ca/2017.

CBC’s Canada Day schedule (Saturday, July 1):

  • CBC: 6 a.m. (6:30 NT)—CBC KIDS Canada Day-themed episodes of favourite programs
  • CBC NEWS NETWORK: 6 a.m. ET (3 a.m. PT)—CBC News Morning with Heather Hiscox live from Charlottetown
  • CBC RADIO 2: 6 a.m. (6:30 NT)—CBC Music Canada Day featuring all genres of 100% Canadian music
  • CBC: 9 a.m. ET (6 a.m. PT)—CBC KIDS Canada Day Special live from Ottawa
  • CBC and CBC NEWS NETWORK: 10 a.m. ET (7 a.m. PT)—CBC News Special: Canada 150 anchored by
    Peter Mansbridge live from Parliament Hill
  • CBC RADIO ONE: 12 p.m. ET (9 a.m. PT)—Piya Chattopadhyay and Duncan McCue live from Ottawa
  • CBC: 3 p.m. ET (12 p.m. PT)—Becoming Canadian
  • CBC: 5 p.m. ET (2 p.m. PT)—2017 CBC Music Festival special featuring Serena Ryder, Walk Off The Earth, Ruth B and more
  • CBC: 6:30 p.m. ET (3:30 p.m. PT)—Extraordinary Canadians: André Pratte on Sir Wilfred Laurier
  • CBC: 7 p.m. ET (4 p.m. PT)—Your Special Canada, Starring Jonathan Torrens
  • CBC: 8 p.m. ET (5 p.m. PT)—Air Farce Canada 150
  • cbc.ca/2017: 8:30 p.m. ET (5:30 p.m. PT)—Livestream of the Parliament Hill stage (also streaming live at watch.cbc.ca)
  • CBC: 9 p.m. ET (6 p.m. PT)—Canada Day 150! From Coast To Coast To Coast hosted by Rick Mercer
    Also streaming live at
    cbc.ca/2017, watch.cbc.ca, YouTube.com/cbc, Facebook.com/cbccanada2017, the CBC TV app and CBC Music Apple TV app; audio-only broadcast at 9 p.m. (10 AT, 10:30 NT) on
    CBC RADIO ONE and CBC RADIO 2

These broadcasts extend CBC/Radio-Canada’s 2017 programming, which includes documentaries, radio programs, kids’ programming, entertainment and arts specials, and innovative digital and virtual-reality initiatives. Programming also includes ongoing news and current affairs coverage of the people, places and events in every region of the country that will shape this milestone year for Canada. CBC/Radio-Canada is proud to have CIBC as a partner in celebrating Canada’s 150th anniversary in the same year that CIBC is also turning 150.

Click here for CBC’s 2017 Programming Guide.

About CBC/Radio-Canada

CBC/Radio-Canada is Canada’s national public broadcaster and one of its largest cultural institutions. We are Canada’s trusted source of news, information and Canadian entertainment. Deeply rooted in communities all across the country, CBC/Radio-Canada offers diverse content in English, French and eight Indigenous languages. We also provide international news and information from a uniquely Canadian perspective. In 2017, CBC/Radio-Canada will be at the heart of the celebrations and conversations with special 2017-themed multiplatform programming and events across Canada.

For additional information, please contact:

Search highlight tool